But I WANT to have masters!

I know I said I wouldn’t post anything until next year, but this was too good not to. I received this comment on my “Why I reject “Christian Anarchism”…” entry. While I spammed it for being amazingly stupid, I thought you would get a kick out of it.

Ⓐnonymous commented on Why I reject “Christian Anarchism”…

This is a problem that I actually have with traditional anarchy – it’s seemingly intolerant to the fact that people may WANT to have masters. The ruler in a religious context is completely voluntary unlike statism, where there is a gun to your head. If these associations are completely voluntary then I don’t see any issue at all. And therefore I find no issue with religion, anarcho-capitalism, or any type of non-statist voluntary association. I guess I am a lot more tolerant than traditional anarchists :)

Talk of the devil of voluntaryism… and it rears its ugly, misshapen head again. This is a great illustration of my point about voluntaryism being these little arguments that have infiltrated our culture and made it impotent against evil. If a master is voluntary, then it’s okay to be an anarchist and have masters! With such level of subjectivism, everything means nothing and nothing means everything. We might as well just go back to being babbling infants.

14 thoughts on “But I WANT to have masters!

  1. macdaddy December 26 2012 at 1:03 Reply

    Francois,

    On a somewhat related point, I was wondering what you make of Proudhon being a Freemason. I don’t know if you’ve read Morals and Dogma, but Albert Pike mentions anarchism in a negative light a couple of times. I thought it was strange, given that the first person to call himself an ‘anarchist’ was a fellow Mason. Can you shed any ‘light’ on the matter? (Freemasonic pun definitely intended).

    • Francois Tremblay December 26 2012 at 1:08 Reply

      Sorry, I didn’t even know he was a freemason, nor do I know anything about the relation between freemasonry and anarchism. This is not a topic I’ve researched at all. I’d like to hear your thoughts, though.

  2. Bedelia Bloodyknuckle December 26 2012 at 20:22 Reply

    Pretty sure no radical thinking anarcho-feminist such as myself wants a master……

    • Francois Tremblay December 26 2012 at 21:10 Reply

      But if you DID, wouldn’t you be so very happy that you COULD? LOL

      • Bedelia Bloodyknuckle December 26 2012 at 21:11 Reply

        Of course not. LOL

        • Francois Tremblay December 26 2012 at 21:12 Reply

          Yea, I didn’t think you were batshit insane. Unlike whoever left that comment.

          • Bedelia Bloodyknuckle December 26 2012 at 21:13

            Ugh, yeah. It’s like the whole women like being dominated argument. It’s pure bullshit and completely misses the main point: patriarchal conditioning.

        • Francois Tremblay December 26 2012 at 21:17 Reply

          Well, I hope this is not a woman, but one can never know.

          • Bedelia Bloodyknuckle December 26 2012 at 21:18

            Yeah “On the internet. No one knows if you’re a dog.”

  3. Ms Vanilla Rose December 29 2012 at 16:04 Reply

    You didn’t mishear someone saying they wanted a Master’s, as in the type of degree?

    • Francois Tremblay December 29 2012 at 16:09 Reply

      And maybe the “ruler” is an actual ruler. At least that would make a little more sense. LOL.

      • Ms Vanilla Rose December 31 2012 at 11:57 Reply

        It is most important to be able to rule straight lines, as long as we can still “think outside the box”!

  4. Dog December 30 2012 at 22:12 Reply

    Not really Freemason related, but secret socity, I think Fat Mike of NOFX has had it out for anarchists ever since Propaghandi took a stab at him in “Rock for sustainable capitalism” and left his label. In NOFX’s latest release the song “Secret Society” states exactly your commentor’s sentiment in a way (but think its more about S/M bondage): “Know Gods, Know Masters…we find freedom through slavery Absolute Power and Hierarchy”… I like NOFX, but think it may be another stab at anarchism like “the Marxist brothers” a twist on an earlier tune they did called “moron bothers”. Anyway, I think the stab misses by framing freedom as some consent vs. coercion dichotomy like the anonymous commentator who fails to see the light of inalienability perhaps.

  5. Francois Tremblay December 30 2012 at 22:19 Reply

    Agreed. It’s the old voluntaryism bromide versus real freedom…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers