The contradictions of capitalism, in one lesson.

3 thoughts on “The contradictions of capitalism, in one lesson.

  1. oopster74 November 21, 2013 at 22:01 Reply

    If I understand your point, then it’s not just the US. I’ve recently been made redundant ( this coming Wednesday actually). I’m a carer for my ex, and although I get paid for a art number of hours, because we live together, I’m essentially a “live-in carer”. Anyway, a clause of the settlement agreement is that I move out. We’ve both wanted our own space since we broke up , but I’ve always insisted, I should be no more than 5 minutes walk away, in case he needs me in the middle of the night for whatever reason (it doesn’t happen often, but he has had to get me up before when he’s needed help, and that’s a “hazard” of the job I accept – hazard isn’t the best word, but I can’t think of a word right now to mean the opposite of “perk of the job”).

    So, if I were to stay in town, I’d be expected to pay £100 per week, for a room in a house no bigger than my current bedroom. If I move 15 miles up the road, I can rent a 2 bed house for £300 per month. I’ve nothing against people making a profit on things, but (and pardon my language here), that’s seriously taking the piss.

  2. Joe November 25, 2013 at 06:40 Reply

    litereay came here from reddit XD

    • Francois Tremblay November 25, 2013 at 12:40 Reply

      I know. I keep trying to stop you redditards but you’re very persistent.

Leave a Reply

