Facebook is complicit in military studies about how to generate civil unrest in other countries.

I’m glad I’m not on Facebook.

There has been quite a bit of chatter this past week after it was revealed that a recent Facebook outage was the result of a psychological experiment that the company conducted on a portion of its users without their permission. The experiment, which was described in a paper published by Facebook, and UCSF, tested the contagion of emotions on social media by manipulating the content of personal feeds and measuring how this impacted user behavior.

Over 600,000 users were used as guinea pigs without their consent, which raises a number of serious ethical and legal questions (particularly due to the fact that this study received federal funding), however there is an even more disturbing angle to this story. It turns out that this research was connected to a Department of Defense project called the Minerva Initiative, which funds universities to model the dynamics, risks and tipping points for large-scale civil unrest across the world.

2 thoughts on “Facebook is complicit in military studies about how to generate civil unrest in other countries.

  1. Brian L February 14, 2015 at 21:26 Reply

    One of the many reasons I stay off all social media. I know enough about myself that I know I can be manipulated. Heck, just reading the news can do that, and I know that the media is trying to get me to view things the way they want me to. Why give them more of me to manipulate than they already have.

    Note that I’m not even remotely surprised that this experiment could or did happen. Life is such shit, and every day makes my decision to never have kids seem all the wiser and more ethical.

    • Brian L February 14, 2015 at 21:58 Reply

      “Village of the Damned” just popped into my head after posting. The constant buzz of media and the language of those that impose their ideas from above as truths, battering against the wall of my mind, day in and out. And me, trying to hold that wall up, as the character in the story tried to block his mind from the psychic children.

Leave a Reply

