The word “cis” is male-centric. / “Cis” is anti-feminist.

Stop using the word “cis.” It’s a slur against women. But, Secretly Radical says, it’s not just a slur but also a representation of male domination against women.

Let’s take a simple statement:

Cis women are privileged over trans women [and should therefore elevate and center trans women in feminism.]

Now let’s break it down.

Cis women are privileged over trans women = female women are privileged over male women.

Cross out the common denominator “women,” and you get to the heart of the matter: females are privileged over males [and should therefore elevate and center males in feminism.] MRA much?

Even using the most clear-cut, limited definition of “trans,” “cis” as not-trans, when applied to women, still centers and elevates males over females.

In a similar vein, Week Woman discusses how she was confronted with the term “cis” and how it doesn’t fit her lived experience as a woman.

I do not identify with being silent

I do not identify with being pink

I do not identify with being soft

I do not identify with being scared

I do not identify with being weak

I do not identify with being submissive

I do not identify with being irrational

I do not identify with being hysterical

I do not identify with being bad at maths

I do not identify with being unintelligent

I do not identify with being followed

I do not identify with being grabbed

I do not identify with being assaulted

I do not identify with being raped

I do not identify with being inferior

I do not identify with being a woman as society has created it.

I do not identify as cis. I am not cis. I am a woman trying to fight with every fibre of my being against everything that my “gender identity” tells me to be. Woman as defined by society is not my gender identity. My gender identity is fuck this oppressive bullshit, and let me be a human fucking being.

31 thoughts on “The word “cis” is male-centric. / “Cis” is anti-feminist.

  1. oopster74 April 7, 2015 at 20:49 Reply

    Reblogged this on oopster74 and commented:
    But your fine enforcing gender roles on anyone you don’t consider female.

    Cis is just a word, that’s all. Would you rather the words “non-trans” instead, because that’s all it means.

    You’re stupidity on this is breathtaking.

    • RaFeCa April 7, 2015 at 22:46 Reply

      It’s not ‘just a word’ when it’s being forced on women who want nothing to do with it. Why does self-identification primacy never apply to “non-trans women”?

      • Francois Tremblay April 7, 2015 at 23:07 Reply

        I agree entirely! I also never “enforced gender roles on anyone I don’t consider female.” I have no idea where this bullshit is coming from.

      • oopster74 April 8, 2015 at 00:19 Reply

        So call yourself whatever you want to call yourself, that’s the beauty of words.

        • RaFeCa April 8, 2015 at 18:21 Reply

          No, I’m talking about people who are professing the unquestionable primacy of self-identification using a word to describe people who don’t want to be described with it.

          For example: I do not identify as cis yet I get called cis and told I have cis-“privilege” by people who are demanding that I call trans women female, even after I tell them I’m not cis. It’s hypocrisy at best.

          I DO call myself what I want but other people don’t respect that even as they demand that I respect their labels.

          And it’s not about enforcing gender roles, it’s the exact opposite, it’s wanting to do away with gender roles all together. Things are just things. Not masculine things or feminine things. Things being anything from clothing to hair styles to mannerisms to jobs to toys to whatever.

          • oopster74 April 8, 2015 at 18:34 Reply

            I would refer to you as cis, unless you told Mr otherwise, and I’d respect that, but its simply a way of differentiating trans and non-trans people. To be a cis person, simply means you’re not trans, its not meant as an insult. Terf isn’t meant as an insult either, but generally, those who’d be described this way tend to be insulting offensive assholes (not all mind), so if they are offended by the term, good, I’m not going to lose any sleep over it (hope that didn’t sound too nasty).

            • Francois Tremblay April 8, 2015 at 18:40 Reply

              Oh COME ON. I let you comment right now, but does that mean you have to abuse my generosity and lie your ass off? Cut this shit out right now.

              • oopster74 April 8, 2015 at 23:26 Reply

                I’m not lieing. Believe it or not, it’s easier to tell the truth then you don’t have to remember more than one version of events.

                • Francois Tremblay April 9, 2015 at 00:45

                  False. “cis” is an insult. TERF is an insult. And you know it. If you’re not gonna be honest with me, I don’t see any point in being nice to you. You better get the fuck out of here.

                • oopster74 April 9, 2015 at 01:57

                  Neither are meant as insults, if you feel they are then I won’t use them when referring to you or on your blog, but know that when I use them, I’m not meaning to insult anyone.

                • Francois Tremblay April 9, 2015 at 03:02

                  Sorry, but I don’t believe you. And I doubt anyone else does either. Because that’s a laughable statement. Do you realize how stupid you look right now?

                • oopster74 April 9, 2015 at 04:01

                  It’s called showing a bit of respect. I can disagree with you and still show you a level of respect, and there are alternative words to cis and TERF I could use.

            • RaFeCa April 8, 2015 at 18:59 Reply

              “Terf isn’t meant as an insult either”

              HA. Yeah, right, tell me another one.

              • oopster74 April 8, 2015 at 23:30 Reply

                It isn’t honestly, it simply stands for “trans excluding radical feminist”. If someone I’d think of as a TERF is being an asshole and takes it as an insult, then fine, but it’s not meant that way. You may use MRA as an insult, but it simply means Men’s Rights Activist, it’s simply shortened, but again, if some mra is being an asshole, you’re not going to worry either if they take it as an insult are you?

                • Brigid August 27, 2015 at 13:18

                  For females to be accused of *excluding* males, as an action, first assumes an entitlement of males to female space.

                  Any marginalized, globally oppressed group has the right to a safe space per their definition.

                  How can you be accused of “excluding” someone when that someone explicitly and forcibly disagrees with your self-identified existence and right to self-defined safe spaces?

                  Clearly the aggressive, entitled, often graphically violent male behavior fighting against females for simply stating that they want a space of their own on their own terms illustrates the need for this “exclusion”?

                • oopster74 August 27, 2015 at 21:59

                  Brigid, they exclude transpeople in general. You don’t view transwomen as women, ok then, that means you mustn’t view transmen as men, but they get excluded too, so it’s an anti-trans exclusion.

                • oopster74 August 30, 2015 at 16:13

                  Brigid, I’ve just re-read this. Transwomen are women, you may disagree, but the law in the UK and many other places says that transwomen are (or can be) legally female and vice versa for transmen.

                  You call transwomen men, you realise that’s gonna piss off a lot of transwomen and transmen right there, and you wonder why they might seem aggressive? Transpeople are the most marginalised oppressed people on the planet.

                  Look, I have zero interest in attending a radfem conference, absolutely none, but whether I attend or not should be my choice as I’m a woman whether someone agrees or not. I don’t want to go, but I should have the right to go is what I’m saying.

                  This violent behaviour you speak of, where? You know where I usually see violent aggressive behaviour? Late night at kicking out at nightclubs, and it’s normally straight men or lesbian women. Violent behaviour is not restricted to one sex or another it’s a universal thing, alcohol doesn’t help the situation though.

    • australopithecene April 7, 2015 at 23:32 Reply

      So trans is saying “it’s just a word” after policing feminists’ and other women’s language for the last decade or so in order to make them deny their own reality. “Just a word” indeed, you disingenuous weasel.

      • oopster74 April 8, 2015 at 00:23 Reply

        Yes, just a word, and I’m not policing anyone’s language. Use whatever words you want to. You’re policing my language telling me what words I should and shouldn’t use.

  2. australopithecene April 7, 2015 at 23:29 Reply

    Thanks for this post. As Secretly Radical has pointed out, trans rhetoric is so MRA-y it’s incredible.

  3. Independent Radical April 8, 2015 at 06:47 Reply

    I think it is important to point out that many “cis-women” do not identify with the supposedly positive traits associated with femininity either (e.g. being nurturing, gentle, selflessly loving and caring, etc.) It is not just about women being offended by having negative traits attributed to them. The supposedly positive traits attributed to them also cement their subordinate place in society. Women should not “identify” with any of it, no matter how nice it all sounds. Some actual behaviours should have been included in the list too (e.g. wearing high heels, being sexually submissive, etc), but I guess it would take too long to include every oppressive feminine ideal.

  4. stchauvinism April 8, 2015 at 14:56 Reply

    Reblogged this on Stop Trans Chauvinism.

  5. elfkat April 8, 2015 at 15:47 Reply
  6. dbrvnk April 8, 2015 at 17:05 Reply

    People who don’t want to change their sex are cis. Simples. Likewise people who don’t have body dysmorphia are morphic. People who don’t have anorexia are orexic. Etc.

    Check your privilege next time you call anorexia an ‘eating disorder’ you orexist.

    • Francois Tremblay April 8, 2015 at 17:11 Reply

      No, that’s not the accepted definition of “cis.” A “cis” person is a person who is not “trans,” and “trans” is defined as:

      “Transgender An umbrella term (adj.) for people whose gender identity and/or gender expression differs from the sex they were assigned at birth.”

      “Transgender (sometimes shortened to trans or TG) people are those whose psychological self (“gender identity”) differs from the social expectations for the physical sex they were born with.”

      Please don’t talk about something you clearly don’t understand.

      • dbrvnk April 8, 2015 at 20:13 Reply

        Honestly I always saw ‘cis’ as a kind of bait and switch, where the meaning bounces back and forth between ‘not trans’ and ‘identifying with their assigned gender’ depending on what the speaker feels like the word means. Sort of like how ‘trans’ bounces back and forth between ‘neurological intersex lady brain condition!’ and ‘gender variant umbrella’. So I was trying to poke fun at the ‘switchers’ like oopster above who next week will likely go back to telling women that being treated as a woman in society is ‘cisprivilege’ or something :\

        • Francois Tremblay April 8, 2015 at 21:11 Reply

          Oh. I apologize for being cross at you. I clearly did not understand the purpose of your comment.

          • dbrvnk April 9, 2015 at 04:28 Reply

            My fault—I didn’t make it nearly ridiculous enough, on retrospect, and probably just came across like a garden-variety genderist. Sorry to disturb :) you can delete my contribs if you like

    • RaFeCa April 8, 2015 at 18:23 Reply

      It’s also physically impossible to change ones sex, just fyi. Sex is a biological fact, it’s gender that is socially constructed around sex (reproductive function) that can be changed or altered and is different across cultures etc.

  7. ladyimbrium April 9, 2015 at 05:07 Reply

    IT sounds like what she doesn’t identify with is the negative stereotype of women as weak or inferior. Good on her for that! I’m not sure how that stereotype and the prefix “cis-” are related?

Leave a Reply

