Ask a Question 10.

Hey, I’m on my tenth of this. Didn’t really expect to get to this, so thanks to everyone who’s sent me questions! Pretty cool.

***

Name: Isabella
Comment: Hi! Your blog is awesome! Keep fighting against those bigots MRAs, they just won’t stop.
Question 1: Do you have a Tumblr?
Question 2: Is it possible for you to post a list of threats from MRAs (or just the bad things they do/say)?
Much appreciated! Thank you & stay safe!

No, I don’t have a tumblr. I’ve never really understood what the point of tumblr was, or why one should use it, or how it all even works. I usually can’t make heads or tails of it, and once you read enough tumblrs, they all kinda meld together because everyone reposts everyone else.

As for threats from MRAs, I’m not sure if you’re talking about threats to me or threats to others in general. I don’t think I’ve ever gotten any threats from MRAs, as they are generally too befuddled by a man arguing with them to have the presence of mind to make threats. As a general idea of the kind of threats they muster, you can always check out We Hunted The Mammoth.

***

Name: Black Metal Valkyrie
Comment: Hi Francois: I noticed you are a pro-feminist male with respect for feminist theory. There is a communist org called LLCO which released a book on their stance on women’s issues. It’s extremely problematic and I was hoping that some pro-feminist men with respect and regard to feminist works and understanding of radical leftism as well could respond to it and debunk it. http://www.lulu.com/shop/prairie-fire/who-upholds-the-sky-first-worldism-and-gender/paperback/product-22061146.html

A Lulu book written by “Leading Light Commander Prairie Fire”? Yea, I’ll get right on that (and yes, I do realize the irony that I also have a book on Lulu). Maybe someone here will comment if they’ve read the book. From the abstract, it seems to be an “imperialism is more important than sexism” sort of argument, which is just oppression olympics.

Of course Western activists should not speak over activists in other societies and assume that what makes sense in our societies makes sense in theirs, but the fact that First World women benefit from imperialism and Third World women suffer from it does not deny the validity of feminism in the Third World. Gender hierarchies exists all over the world and so does anti-genderism. What it does point out is the importance of integrating anti-imperialism in feminist thought, which, from what I’ve seen, is not a problem for radical feminists.

***

Leave a Reply

