Antilla Dean on: “it’s just my opinion!”

Antilla Dean did a great job of debunking the common myth that you can excuse any stupid statement by saying it’s your opinion.

In other words, you can form an opinion in a bubble, and for the first couple of decades of our lives we all do. However, eventually you are going to venture out into the world and find that what you thought was an informed opinion was actually just a tiny thought based on little data and your feelings. Many, many, many of your opinions will turn out to be uninformed or just flat out wrong. No, the fact that you believed it doesn’t make it any more valid or worthwhile, and nobody owes your viewpoint any respect simply because it is yours.

You can be wrong or ignorant. It will happen. Reality does not care about your feelings. Education does not exist to persecute you. The misinformed are not an ethnic minority being oppressed. What’s that? Planned Parenthood is chopping up dead babies and selling them for phat cash? No, that’s not what actually happened. No, it’s not your opinion. You’re just wrong.

15 thoughts on “Antilla Dean on: “it’s just my opinion!”

  1. John Doe February 19, 2016 at 21:34 Reply

    That article kicked ass, I’ve read it several times.

    I hate to sound impertinent, but I have been trying to get your attention all week. After reading through your articles on individualism and conformity, I want to give out one example of me breaking away from the pack.

    I am an aspiring cartoonist and I have recently just divorced myself of anime. I know that this sounds incredibly stupid right off the bat, but hear me out for a sec. Anime for me has devolved into a utter craphole of saccharine genericness. This rose up in me after watching one particular show called “Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt.” I’ve written a twelve page essay on why I adore this show to death because it essentially broke all of rules of modern anime by being random and satirical.

    The story is about two angels that were kicked out of heaven for being naughty, shall we say, and they need to literally buy their way back by killing ghosts. Actually, I’m going to be a hundred percent honest. The main characters are out and proud bitches who do what they want, when they want, and how they want without giving a rat’s ass about anybody’s unwarranted opinion. The staples for the show are its unique and non-traditional character designs that take after “Dexter’s Laboratory” and “The Powerpuff Girls,” hyperactive animation, and wacky humor.

    Critics, haters, and hardcore anime fans alike all tore it apart for not appealing to any mainstream sense of taste. They also labeled it as just another anime instead of an honest to God cartoon and labeled its fans as “absolutists.” You would have to see it for yourself to get a better understanding of what I am talking about.

    I proudly stand by it because it inspired me to get naked, forget about right and wrong, and be all I can be. It taught me to give a lesser crap about what others think and go my own way. It also taught me that there are barriers that desperately need to be broken down.

    The creator of the show, Hiroyuki Imaishi, is known for taking after western animation more than eastern.

    I am a proud anti-opinionist. If it were true that everyone was entitled to an opinion, then there would be no debating or arguing or trying to reason with people to see a more open point of view. If somebody says something that I feel promotes a more restrictive agenda, I will knock those people down.

    • Francois Tremblay February 20, 2016 at 01:12 Reply

      Yea great, I already read that a few times. What do you want me to say? I agree with you.

      • John Doe February 21, 2016 at 22:49 Reply

        I am so so sorry about spamming you.

        • Francois Tremblay February 22, 2016 at 01:10 Reply

          Don’t worry about it.

          • John Doe February 22, 2016 at 22:50 Reply

            I was expecting you to chew me out because that’s how it usually goes when I try to reason with people. Suddenly they are the ones that feel violated when I say no to unsolicited criticism, and since were on the subject of criticism you can feel free to point me to your article “The problem of enosiophobia.” But let me ask, even though you never said anything, how am I the bad guy?

            I probably know that you are no expert at this, but the anime community at large has shown me that it has standards that are simply way too high. It believes that all animation must be held to same quality as Disney or Hayao Miyazaki, whom I am beginning to understand when he allegedly said that anime was a mistake. The reason is because it appeals to a status quo.

            Here we have a niche little show that doesn’t kowtow to any of that nonsense and people call it wasted talent.

            The main characters are practically my idols despite being fictional. I know I said that they are out and proud bitches but I meant that in a good way because they are assertive and live for fun. Everyone else looks down on that, and all I have to say is that if people are so afraid of having their expectations of how females should act defied, then they are a lost cause.

            Again, you’d have to see it for yourself to get a better understanding of what I am trying to say, but I will by no means force you to.

            • Francois Tremblay February 23, 2016 at 01:22 Reply

              Thank you for telling me about it.

              • John Doe February 23, 2016 at 15:45 Reply

                Seriously? No problemo. :)

  2. John Doe February 24, 2016 at 23:22 Reply

    I am really, really sorry to keep pestering you about this, but I just cannot stop talking about this one little cartoon. I’m serious when I say that this particular TV show changed me for the better. I know that you’re probably about to drop dead from either boredom or annoyance, but I needed an outlet.

    Another thing that really ticks me off are the blasted fence-sitters and nitpickers who indifferently label this show as “average” even after all that has been shown. I keep saying you have to see it for yourself, but the show explodes with color, animation, and personality unlike anything that has been aired before in the east save for “Dead Leaves” which Imaishi also created. There is also a group that says that it is “unoriginal,” which I am sure you have got a thing or to two to say about that, because nothing can ever be truly original.

    Would you like me to give me an example of how rude and self-entitled these certain people can be? One day I was browsing deviantArt, a place I no longer want anything to do with because it’s a dump for hate and fetishism, and I found a piece if fan art for “Panty and Stocking.” I looked at the comment section and this one little pissant who decided to launch into a mile long tirade calling the show wasted talent because it was different and not “traditional.”

    Then there was this one critic who had the fragility of the typical soccer-mom who wasn’t down with the characters personalities, art direction, and humor, all of which I said are the show’s staples. “Waaah they’re unlikable! Waaah it’s offensive!” And the next one really pisses me off, “Just because you can doesn’t mean you should!”

    I wanted to slap this bitch, big time. I’m scared to reason with anybody because they will just tell me that I am violating their rights and trying to censor them. It happened before with this one dickhead I regrettably used to be friends with.

    If you ask me, it just goes to show you that people really need to see other people and learn to lower their expectations.

    Okay, you can shoot me now.

    • Francois Tremblay February 24, 2016 at 23:25 Reply

      Believe me, I feel the same way when people criticize Undertale. It’s good to find something you like so much that you become a fan of it. I totally get it.

      • John Doe February 28, 2016 at 21:34 Reply

        When they don’t knock it down a peg just because of the humor, some even go as far as to outright exclude it from Imaishi’s work altogether.

  3. John Doe February 29, 2016 at 21:36 Reply

    I have had so many relationships broken because they all thought their personal opinions and beliefs were more precious than anything else.

  4. jigenryu778 March 8, 2016 at 01:12 Reply

    There is so much that I want to say that I don’t know where to begin. I have dealt with so much that I feel I need to take a stand. I guess that I will start by saying this: Opinions no longer even register to me. Feel free to call me warped, but opinions simply do not exist in my world.

    The majority of people I have encountered have been so forceful and out front with their opinions that I refuse to sympathize with them. In fact, it has gotten to the point where I feel that they are in serious need of an ego bruising. Whenever I try to reason with someone, they normally cry out that they are being censored in some way. Honestly, I think it’s incredibly pathetic that the majority feels threatened when they experience nonconformity of some type.

    If somebody says something that I think is stupid or wrong, I am going to call their ass out.

    • Francois Tremblay March 8, 2016 at 01:20 Reply

      I totally agree with you! Don’t hold back on people just to be nice. People don’t have the right to hold stupid opinions.

      • jigenryu778 March 8, 2016 at 06:02 Reply

        The people I have met have been so loud and obnoxious with their opinions. They always project their feelings onto the minority and weed them out. I sympathize with John Doe because we actually have a lot in common.

  5. jigenryu778 March 8, 2016 at 22:50 Reply

    There is more that I want to say that I forgot to write down. If you ask me, the first telltale sign of someone only caring about opinions is to listen to how “open” they are to hearing other people’s opinions.

Leave a Reply

