“I Wish I Was Never Born”

The Experience Project is a site where people can share their stories on given topics. I think this one is particularly relevant to antinatalism.

I Wish I Was Never Born
And not only do I wish I were never born, I’m angry about being born. I had no say in the matter. If I had been given the choice, I’d absolutely choose to have never been born. What a miserable, hopeless mess this life is.

My purpose in posting this is not to seek advice or sympathy, but rather just to see if there is anyone else out there who feels this way.

I’ve tried everything within my power to appreciate what little pleasure and enjoyment I can find in life, but the bad so far outweighs the good, it’s impossible. I try to feel gratitude, I’m perfectly aware that there are many people who have it far worse than I do, and that I should count my blessings. But that doesn’t make me any less miserable. I’ve felt this way for literally my entire life, but these feelings become stronger the older I get.

7 thoughts on ““I Wish I Was Never Born”

  1. John Doe March 8, 2016 at 22:46 Reply

    This is how I strongly feel about something.

    I’m glad that you share my sentiments about art being a reflection of life because there is more that I want to talk about.

    Have you ever heard of a TV show called “Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends?” It aired on Cartoon Network way back in 2004, I believe. The show is about, well, a foster home for imaginary friends, beings that are actually children’s imaginations taken personified forms. These are actually living beings but the focus is mostly on the life of an 8-year-old child named Mac and his imaginary friend Bloo.

    This show majorly affects me in a number of ways. The first thing I want to say is that I connect with Mac on a personal level. Mac is described as a very creative and intelligent child for his age. He has trouble making friends and dislikes when order and routines are interrupted. I wonder what that sounds like, Asperger’s anyone? Anyway, that is what sets him apart from other children his age.

    The second thing I want to say is that I have a strong love-hate relationship with this particular show. I love it for its themes on the importance of friendship and the imagination, but I despise it for its execution. You see, for a show that centered on those themes, it spent a great majority of the time partaking in some of the most mean-spirited forms of comedy I’ve ever seen. It got to the point where I often compare it to animated sitcoms on FOX like “Family Guy.”

    There is even more on the subject of Mac and his life. You see, I have come to understand Mac on a deeply personal level. The problem is that, well if I may be blunt, his life is utter crap. It’s implied that his father is either dead or divorced, his mother is a workaholic, and his older brother Terrance is the biggest bully and tormentor on the show. Plus, his imaginary friend Bloo posses all the worst qualities he could have. He’s rude, narcissistic, and generally unlikable.

    The only productive parent to child relationship on the show, I feel, is between Mac and Frankie, the granddaughter of the head of the said foster home.

    I have plead twice to the show’s creator Craig McCracken to reboot this show instead of “The Powerpuff Girls,” but my pleas fell on deaf ears it seems.

  2. John Doe March 10, 2016 at 20:54 Reply

    Hello?

    • Francois Tremblay March 10, 2016 at 21:06 Reply

      What?

      • John Doe March 10, 2016 at 22:39 Reply

        Nothing.

        It’s just that when you don’t reply, I tend to get worried.

        If I am irritating you, we can stop here.

        • Francois Tremblay March 10, 2016 at 22:52 Reply

          If you want to have a convo, your best bet is to go to the chat room. I’m not much for long discussions on the comments.

          • John Doe March 11, 2016 at 02:19 Reply

            I can totally respect that.

  3. Brian L May 30, 2016 at 11:53 Reply

    I can hardly wait for the end to all this. I’m not going to speed it, but I’m not going to put it off either. I recall Slavoj Zizek’s stated worst fear; dying, only to wake up again. I once thought that if I became an energy being with no needs, that would be okay. But I can’t see that being better than just not being.

Leave a Reply

