11 reasons why some people don’t want children

Nicolas DiDomizio summarizes 11 reasons why some “millenials” refuse to have children.

7. Not all women are preprogrammed with maternal instincts.
Much like comedian Margaret Cho, who once joked that she “ovulates sand,” many women told Mic that they simply didn’t feel they were born with motherly urges.

“I have personally have never felt the ‘motherly instinct’ that girls my age who are getting married and pregnant rave about. I have had multiple encounters with children throughout life and it is always an awkward and anxious experience for me.”

“Children always have irritated me to no end. The only time I enjoy children is when they are quiet, humble, intelligent beings. Obviously these conditions are unreasonable to expect of the tiny humans, so for me, the logical solution is to not have any of my own.”

8. The world isn’t always a nice place.
Sometimes the decision to not be a parent is as simple as wanting to spare a child from having to live in a world of jerks. Citing factors like global inequality, bullying or a general discontent with society, many readers don’t want their offspring to have to deal with the world’s problems.

“I feel we have too many issues recently with law enforcement and government that I do not feel comfortable upbringing kids into this society.”

“I was bullied a lot as a child. I know what children are capable of and it scares me. I see all children as a potential future threat, simply because about 70% of people in my year group were bullies, and most of them still are. I wouldn’t want a child to have to live in a world where they’ll either be bullied, or be the bully. I don’t think I could handle seeing my child cry from being made fun of, or being told my own child had made someone else cry for fun.”

“Honestly our society is kind of fucked up; I don’t need to send someone out into that.”

Leave a Reply

