White people lack empathy for brown people.

Clearly we already knew this, but SCIENCE! has confirmed it. The blog Restructure! gives its own take on the topic.

I then realized that the vast majority of White Americans could not empathize with brown people at a very basic level. For most White Americans, the death and violence of thousands of brown bodies was just part of some abstract ethical argument to position oneself as morally superior to the United States. For most White Americans, brown people dying just meant flickers on the television screen about something happening far away. They didn’t feel the overwhelming anger and sadness they would normally feel when someone they know dies without reason. They couldn’t see the full reality of what death means, when the people who die are brown.

I have seen white people complain online that they cannot see the facial expressions of (East) Asian faces. For many white people, East Asians are like emotionless robots who are efficient at machine-like things like number crunching. Some white people argue that while East Asians may be able to play musical instruments beautifully, they play music without soul.

Most white people just don’t see us as humans. When brown people die through violence, or East Asians express joy or sadness through our faces, most white people’s brains just don’t register the human connection between our bodies and their bodies. When we watch movies and TV shows and read books featuring white protagonists, we have to put ourselves into white people’s shoes to understand the stories and feel the emotions of sadness, laughter, and pride. But people of colour are rarely the protagonists in the media that white people watch, so they rarely or never have to imagine themselves as us.

15 thoughts on “White people lack empathy for brown people.

  1. Simon September 4, 2016 at 12:43 Reply

    If anything I’d say white people have too much empathy for them. Look at all the SJWs who welcome in wave upon wave of arabs and blacks who rape, plunder and pillage, laughing all the while. White countries are a soft touch, and they know it only too well. Plus they breed like bacteria, so maybe you should address that. How do we stop the huddled masses of the third world, who hate and envy us so, from weighing the earth down with their sheer numbers?

    You know, I’ve developed this scenario in my head, and I have no idea if it could ever work. At this point it’s entirely theoretical, but what if it were possible to spike a water supply with an agent that, when imbibed, would make the victim incredibly tired and send them into a deep sleep, from which they would never awake. They simply die in their sleep. I can’t imagine any objection to this method of mass euthanasia, since the people would never see it coming, and as such would not suffer any distress. In fact it’s a much more peaceful death than they otherwise would’ve had.

    • Francois Tremblay September 4, 2016 at 14:52 Reply

      This is probably not a blog for you.

      • Simon September 4, 2016 at 15:21 Reply

        Your anti-natalist stuff is good, but the SJW crap… yeah, you really need to knock that on the head. You can say you’re not one, but when you write stuff like this, I’m sorry but I just can’t believe you. Non-whites make up 90% of the global population. They aren’t a minority, so no, my heart does not bleed for them. They are a ravenous swarm.

        • Francois Tremblay September 4, 2016 at 15:23 Reply

          If you interpret a scientific study as SJW propaganda, then you are FUCKED UP. And how the fuck am I an SJW. I’m against the trans agenda, I’m against liberal feminism, I’m against gender self-identification, which are all the major issues of SJWs. Get the fuck outta here or I’ll ban your bigot ass, you fucking asshole.

  2. Kendall September 5, 2016 at 09:55 Reply

    I don’t understand why so many men think that if someone doesn’t agree with them on EVERYTHING, those people must conform to their manly beliefs…

    I’m not an anti natalist, I like Francois’s blog even if I don’t agree with EVERYTHING, and I would never tell him to “knock that on the head” damn… People Do not have to conform 100% to whatever worldview you have.

    What is so hard about reading his anti natalist stuff that you agree with and enjoying that and just disagreeing with his other stuff? like fuck off man, his blog isn’t about you.

    • Francois Tremblay September 5, 2016 at 14:35 Reply

      Yea… I’d say that seeing people of other races as bacteria means you’re probably not gonna get along with my egalitarian/radical position.

      I know most people are not going to agree with everything I write. But hopefully my readers think a lot of it is interesting enough to them, even if it’s different bits for different people.

  3. Ophidian September 5, 2016 at 20:01 Reply

    Maybe you should move to neighborhoods or even countries that are crime-ridden and impoverished to give you a perspective on the violence, abuse, and sexism “women of color” have to endure from their menfolk on a daily basis. Being “represented” in Hollywood or advertising is the least of their concerns.

    One thing I have learned about white “radical feminists” is that they give enough of their “empathy” to the nonwhite male because of the color of his skin, while the nonwhite female is doing her hardest to get away from him. This one of the reasons why black feminists can’t tolerate white feminists. You’re toadies for any male who isn’t white. Doesn’t sound very feminist at all.

    The only empathy gap to be had is between males and females. It’s women of all races who get the shorter end of the stick. But it is white women especially who are forced to deal with the consequences of immigration into their countries, and being subjected to violence and harassment not just from the white male, but from all other groups of males.

    But this is not racist at all. Only talking about it is. And it is only a problem when the white man does it. You must be surrounded by nothing but white people if you think their alleged racism is the problem. I’ve lived in the projects long enough to know that you Lily White types are full of shit.

    • Francois Tremblay September 6, 2016 at 00:12 Reply

      I think you commented on the wrong entry. The quote didn’t say anything about representation being the problem or being sympathetic only to black men.

      • Ophidian September 6, 2016 at 08:46 Reply

        I should have elaborated further, and I apologize for being brash and emotional. But I disagree with your assessment that white people lack empathy for “brown” people.

        Especially when black people are the minority firstly over-represented in all forms of media above any other demographic, and the one thing white folks today fear the most is being called “racist”.

        As someone of Puerto Rican descent, my reality is much more different than those uttering “racism” on my behalf. I’ve never had any white person (of any ethnicity) call me a spic, deny me a job because of my heritage, or gang up and beat the living shit out of me.

        I am not saying it hasn’t happened to others who are of my nationality. But I have experienced a lot more hostility from blacks and other “Latinos” because of my background.

        And growing up I have heard plenty of Puerto Rican women, including my aunt that raised me, mutter that Puerto Rican men are no-good, lazy, and abusive, because of the men in their lives. I have NEVER heard these words come out of the mouth of a white woman.

        It is perfectly acceptable in this culture to talk shit to white people. To call them evil, to call them racist, and to criticize them with no reproach. All the while none of them are benefiting from five decades of Affirmative Action.

        For black women, much of the violence, abuse, and harassment they receive comes from the men in their own communities. Ditto for Latin American and Asian women.

        But if you are white and female in any Western country, not only are you a target of abuse and harassment from white males and “diversity” alike, but you are targeted for sexual violence from men of all races.

        Again, I apologize for ranting all over your comments section. It comes off as ‘mansplaining’. You are spot on when it comes to sex and gender, and I enjoy feminist critiques of everything that has to do with Patriarchy.

        But you’ve got it all wrong in regards to race. One of my mentors was a radical feminist who never benefited from “white privilege”, and she made no apologizes for being a white woman in a culture that lacks empathy for her because of her biology.

        • Francois Tremblay September 6, 2016 at 15:13 Reply

          I have no idea what your greater point is, or what I’m supposed to be wrong about. But I think you are mistaken when you equate rhetoric with empathy. Despite the fact that explicit racism is considered unacceptable, racist attitudes are still widespread. The scientific study being referred to is Empathy constrained: Prejudice predicts reduced mental simulation of actions during observation of outgroups, by Gutsell and Inzlicht. You can read the abstract here:
          http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0022103110000661

          • Ophidian September 6, 2016 at 17:22 Reply

            The article you provided never explicitly states that white people lack the most empathy of any racial group. It only shows the demographics of people who are the MOST DISLIKED by other people for whatever reason, right or wrong. Nothing about Whitey being the least empathetic.

            And I am pretty sure these studies have more to do with an individuals experience with other outgroups, and less to do with full-blown bigotry and a belief in a superiority of your own race. My previous rant (albeit disorganized) was meant to illustrate that a “person of color” like myself can experienced hostility from other minorities because of my nationality.

            Ask any black or Cuban in America why they dislike Mexicans or Puerto Ricans, and they will give you a reason why. Where I come from it is always assumed that my people are loud, obnoxious, uneducated, and they live off welfare. This contributes to a persons “lack of empathy”, which is just a fancy way of saying that they dislike them.

            Again, I’m not trying to derail the discussion on your blog. Every time something of interest catches my eye in regards to Feminism and gender roles, I am always blindsided with a “white people are racist” article. There are plenty of women who are victims of interracial gendered violence who would disagree with your egalitarian narratives on race. And I’m speaking on their behalf.

            • Francois Tremblay September 6, 2016 at 18:09 Reply

              I know that non-whites can be racist against other non-whites. Being white-passing, however, I have little experience in that area.

              • Ophidian September 6, 2016 at 19:22 Reply

                Okay… This article doesn’t sway me from being pro-feminist, BTW, and agreeing with 99 percent of your positions on gender. From challenging PiV as a coercive violation of women’s bodies, to the male colonization of female spaces and their erasure of women and girls from society and history under the veneer of trans-activism.

                None of us would be here if not for women. And yet there is an agenda to do away with females altogether. A man worth his salt makes it his mission to help those who struggle to help themselves. It’s called having honor, and this is something most men today lack in spades. Especially in how their better halves.

                • Francois Tremblay September 6, 2016 at 19:23

                  I’m not trying to sway anyone from being pro-feminist, so that’s good. :)

  4. bacopa September 8, 2016 at 18:12 Reply

    As Stokely Carmichel said, white people’s feelings do not matter, their capabilities matter. LBJ, understood this from the white folks side and acted accordingly.

    Racism is not a matter of feelings. It’s about class power.

Leave a Reply

