Lingerie is not Armor – Tropes vs Women in Video Games

5 thoughts on “Lingerie is not Armor – Tropes vs Women in Video Games

  1. John Doe October 30, 2016 at 10:14 Reply

    I just got back from visiting a blog called The Orbit. I wanted to talk about South Park and the response I got was the predictable “It’s just a joke.” Well, the actual response I got was that it’s only a joke if everyone is laughing. I’ve already talked to you about that show compared to that other one that I find so much more humorous.

  2. sellmaeth October 31, 2016 at 05:13 Reply

    Once again, Anita Sarkeesian explains obvious things to the idiots among us.

    I dislike how many pictures she uses to illustrate her point, as I would rather not see so many women in so extremely stupid clothes, but apparently, some people really need this explained to them. Patiently. In lots of words. With pictures and videos.

    Have you seen that opponent of hers, Liana K., who is sooo sad about Feminist Frequency that she would almost have quit writing about videogames? (Youtube suggests to watch her videos next)
    I suspect there’s loads of antifeminism and internalized misogyny in this woman’s videos, but can’t bring myself to view such toxic material. My self-esteem has already been damaged by watching the Tropes vs Women video and needs to recover.

    • Francois Tremblay October 31, 2016 at 14:46 Reply

      No, sorry. I don’t watch any antis videos. I find them absolutely pointless as well as tedious.

  3. Independent Radical November 6, 2016 at 16:37 Reply

    I support her work, but I still think her stances are too moderate. Revealing outfits worn by women in sports are not likely to be purely practical since men competing in the same events do not where such outfits. Their outfits are tight, but cover their torsos and upper legs. I don’t particularly want to see (explicit) depictions of sex in video games either. It think sex should be recognised as a private act and not something players, male or female, should be allowed to view or butt into.

Leave a Reply

