Americans do not believe in democracy.

If this election has proven anything, it’s that Americans, despite their blabbering about democracy being great, do not believe in democracy at all. A majority of people voted for a candidate that they do not find trustworthy, or even like. Instead, they voted “strategically,” a concept which is inherently anti-democratic. In a democracy, you’re supposed to vote for someone to represent you and your interests. Clearly this is not what happened. And the propaganda leading up to the election was similarly anti-democratic.

Anyone who said to vote for one person in order to stop another, you’re a fucking idiot. But this election would have been shit with or without you anyway. You just made it even more annoying.

Also, the polling apparatus, and the mainstream media in general, failed the public completely and absolutely. Everyone had Clinton polling ahead of Trump from the beginning all the way to Election Day. We’ve now seen how absolutely wrong that was.

10 thoughts on “Americans do not believe in democracy.

  1. John Doe November 9, 2016 at 09:20 Reply

    My mother and I just got done having a serious argument about this and I don’t know if I will ever be able to look at her the same way again. I told her about all the things that Trump and Pence are going to do and yet she still thinks they are the lesser of two evils. I never paid attention to Hilary or whatever she did with those emails or whatever the fuck, and I never voted. My family all voted for Trump.

    My mother simply does not care. She believes that everyone should feel good and that everyone should get a medal for having an opinion. My therapist thinks the same way and I don’t know what to think of her either.

    We were talking about immigration and to quote my mother, “illegal immigration pisses her off.” She believes that jobs and opportunities are being taken from people like me, but I don’t give a damn. I also went on the extreme, I’ll admit, and said that anyone who actively prevents others from living their own individual lives as they choose needs to die. She bizarrely asked me if that meant that mass murderers should be allowed to live as they choose.

    My mother doesn’t even know what a fascist is. She doesn’t believe that Trump is bigoted at all, she just “doesn’t agree” with everything he says. She told me that this is the way people evolve and that this is the way things and I need to just sit down and accept that or go join or form a club.

  2. Garibadani November 9, 2016 at 09:47 Reply

    Francois,

    If you read one thing about the election, read this by Robert Soave…. “Nails it” doesn’t even begin to do it justice.

    Many will say Trump won because he successfully capitalized on blue collar workers’ anxieties about immigration and globalization. Others will say he won because America rejected a deeply unpopular alternative. Still others will say the country is simply racist to its core. But there’s another major piece of the puzzle, and it would be a profound mistake to overlook it. Overlooking it was largely the problem, in the first place. Trump won because of a cultural issue that flies under the radar and remains stubbornly difficult to define, but is nevertheless hugely important to a great number of Americans:

    POLITICAL CORRECTNESS.

    More specifically, Trump won because he convinced a great number of Americans that he would destroy political correctness.

    I have tried to call attention to this issue for years. I have warned that political correctness actually is a problem on college campuses, where the far-left has gained institutional power and used it to punish people for saying or thinking the wrong thing. And ever since Donald Trump became a serious threat to win the GOP presidential primaries, I have warned that a lot of people, both on campus and off it, were furious about political-correctness-run-amok—so furious that they would give power to any man who stood in opposition to it.

    RTWT here:

    http://reason.com/blog/2016/11/09/trump-won-because-leftist-political-corr

    • pamelaofmelbourne November 9, 2016 at 19:51 Reply

      I’m for political correctness in so far as it means standing up to racism and misogyny, but what the social justice crowd (I see them as the liberal/moderate left, the far left actually wants to change society not squabble over language and concepts) does in universities nowadays is censorship, directly largely at radical leftists and feminists. They’re abusing legitimate concerns to try to force everyone to agree with them and be super polite and nice all the time, including towards right winger. I would say they’re wimps, but they’re more like traitors, actively taking the side of the right over their supposed leftist allies.

  3. Justin November 9, 2016 at 11:02 Reply

    Thank you. I can always rely on your blog to take a break from the insanity of the world. I actually heard someone say that young people are selfish of they vote for a third party candidate.

    • Francois Tremblay November 9, 2016 at 16:05 Reply

      I would laugh, if I hadn’t just woke up and was in the mood.

  4. John Doe November 9, 2016 at 17:35 Reply

    I frankly don’t give a shit about anyone’s so-called beliefs or opinions about who I am. If someone is demonizing, terrorizing. bullying, or abusing me for who I was born as, I WILL shove their so-called opinions and beliefs back down their throat. People have been offending me for things that I had zero choice in and cannot control, and I think it’s about something changed.

    So the next time some filthy inbred redneck, dirty Christian, or stupid straightie breeder “doesn’t agree with my lifestyle,” those people WILL get a taste of their own medicine.

  5. John Doe November 10, 2016 at 15:58 Reply

    I just got back from therapy, and my therapist and I just had the same old talk about how everyone is entitled to their opinion.

    I. Don’t. Believe. That.

    I’m sorry, but I don’t

    What I believe in is not whether or not we technically can have an opinion, but how we use them. I don’t believe that people should be allowed to think whatever they want and just leave it that. I believe that we can use what we think to find some sort of center.

  6. Marco Angelo McClean November 11, 2016 at 01:08 Reply

    You say, “Everyone had Clinton polling ahead of Trump from the beginning all the way to Election Day. We’ve now seen how absolutely wrong that was.”

    It wasn’t wrong. Clinton clearly won the popular vote by a far greater margin than Gore won the popular vote in 2000. It’s the weird rules of the so-called electoral college that threw the election then to Bush and threatens to throw it now to Trump.

    There’s a petition on change.org to the electors of the electoral college asking them to do the conform to the will of the people by casting /their/ votes –the only votes that count– for Hillary Clinton, which they’re perfectly within their rights to do. It has two million signatures in the first two days.

    Here:
    https://www.change.org/p/electoral-college-electors-electoral-college-make-hillary-clinton-president-on-december-19

  7. Success Inspirers' World November 14, 2016 at 22:31 Reply

    Since I started following US elections closely since the time of Jimmy Carter I have never known the polls to fail. What went wrong this time. Americans have to look deeper for what went wrong. I can bet the issue of the election results is not over yet.

Leave a Reply

