George Lucas: Soviet Directors had more artistic freedom than I had

3 thoughts on “George Lucas: Soviet Directors had more artistic freedom than I had

  1. Independent Radical January 15, 2017 at 23:55 Reply

    The internet is very good at freaking out over small details. I don’t think he should’ve compared his situation to slavery and I also don’t think he should’ve had Darth Vader dramatically scream at the end of Revenge of the Sith, but I also don’t care that much. It’s two words and a few seconds of film, that shouldn’t ruin everything else.

    I’m wondering if liberals really hate these details that much or if they’re just using themas an excuse to dismiss things they hate for other reasons. Revenge of the Sith was very critical of the US government at the time and I feel the plot contains an implicit criticism of masculinity, though I don’t claim that was the intention Lucas had when he made it (masculinity is pretty damn easy to criticise).

    As for this interview, well it’s obvious why the liberal “free expression” crowd would dislike it. They believe they already have free speech in the US or think that the way to have more would be to allow more sex and violence into films (which is the kind of content you see quite often in independent films, which is why I don’t like them either). There are other ways to push the envelope (for example, with new ideas and stories, rather than more violent, sexualised versions of the same one).

    So overall I agree with him and while some polite criticism may have been merited, I fear the liberal obsession with nit picky details is shutting down rational debate. Or maybe I’m just too much of a white, Star Wars prequel lover to realise that the entire history or anti-racist activism has been wiped out by George Lucas and his accidental racism (which I acknowledge is present in the prequels).

  2. theonlyoneleft January 17, 2017 at 12:20 Reply

    Not a capitalist, but I gotta refute this video a bit as a person with a significant curiosity about art and it’s ability to push ideas. I really need say no more than look at the number of films criticizing capitalism, democracy, and even straight up criticizing the US vs Soviet Films criticizing communism or their government in general. I think George is more upset that HE can’t get away with making more interesting films because he has set himself up as a very commercial filmmaker, going against that would hurt his name and the people who make money off of him will not let that happen very easily.

    I’m not saying there isn’t a problem of boring, uninspired films nowadays, there is. But of course there was in Soviet Russia as well, and of course there are plenty of great films being put out today that are challenging, both in filmmaking and in ideas.

    • Francois Tremblay January 17, 2017 at 18:33 Reply

      ” I really need say no more than look at the number of films criticizing capitalism, democracy, and even straight up criticizing the US”

      What are you going on about? Name me any Hollywood film that does any of these things.

Leave a Reply

