Gender rebels are not trans.

Shamelessly Unladylike affirms herself as a woman who refuses to perform femininity, and that gender, for women, means obedience.

When people ask me why do I want to look like a man, what they’re actually asking is why am I not marking myself as a woman. They’re asking why do I fail to perform the role of femininity, to make myself pleasing and unthreatening to the eyes of the upper class, the man class. My mother once voiced her concerns to me, that my looks would make me a target for male violence, and she is right to be concerned. I am perceived as a member of the lower class who refuses to bear the marks and play the role imposed to me. I refuse to shave my legs to look like a pre-pubescent girl, innocent and vulnerable, or to wear shoes that force me to walk on the tips of my toes, slow and precariously balanced, and this makes men angry, because this is a counscious act of rebellion. This is me saying I am not theirs. I will not please them. I do not desire their approval or their attention. And men often get violent when we refuse to cater to them.

My choices of visual presentation make me a cautionary tale. I am the hairy, ugly, lesbian feminist, the one they warn other women about. “Don’t be like her”, they say, “or no man will ever want you”. But I don’t want them either, and I do not want to look like them, or be like them, or have anything to do with them. I want to be free from men and their bullshit standards. I want to strut around proudly, shamelessly unladylike, looking like a woman looks when she’s not covered in face paint and restrictive clothing, when she doesn’t care about pleasing men.

6 thoughts on “Gender rebels are not trans.

  1. purplesagefem July 20, 2017 at 05:10 Reply

    Re: your headline — it depends on your definition of “trans.” Some would consider GNC people who don’t transition to be under the trans umbrella too.

    • Francois Tremblay July 20, 2017 at 05:12 Reply

      I don’t know what the definition of “trans” is any more. Every time I give them a definition from a trans organization, they tell me it’s wrong.

    • sellmaeth July 22, 2017 at 03:19 Reply

      So they now assign people trans who don’t identify as trans themselves? Wow. What cheek.
      All the while they continue to complain about “misgendering”. What hypocrisy.

      • Francois Tremblay July 22, 2017 at 03:31 Reply

        And they call cis people who don’t identify as cis (or who are not even cis, according to the mainstream definitions). A lot of radfems are not cis. I’m not cis.

Leave a Reply

